Sunday, August 15, 2010

Cup Race at Michigan

The Cup cars were at Michigan International Speedway today for the two hundred lap, Carfax 400. Kasey Kahne won the pole on the two mile track, with an impressive lap time of 38.465. Jimmie Johnson, Clint Bowyer, Tony Stewart, Juan Pablo Montoya, Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Harvick Martin Truex, Jr. and Paul Menard were the Top Ten in Qualifying.

Poor Kasey Kahne never had a chance to lead because on the first lap, Jimmie Johnson took the first position from Kasey, since his car was loose. On lap four, Mark Martin scraped the wall, then reported that there was no real damage, just that the car was tight, but was never able to recover and finished laps down. Jimmie lead until lap 15, when Biffle took over. Lap 32, Mark Martin comes to Pit Road and Caution then came out for Kurt Busch. His motor blew up. The restart came on lap 39, and the leaders were Biffle, Johnson, Stewart, Harvick and Bowyer. The rain came on lap 60, but it was just a drizzle, so the cars stayed out under Caution, until lap 67 when they restarted. Greg Biffle led until lap 87, when Tony Stewart was able to catch him and take the lead.

Lap 100 was when the cars had to pit under green and by lap 104, the Green Flag Pit Stops had cycled through. The leaders were Stewart, Biffle, Harvick, Bowyer and Kyle Busch. Biffle was able to hold onto the lead until lap 112, when Harvick took the top spot.

Now, for the altercation everyone is talking about, Ryan Newman and Joey Logano. This happened on lap 148 when Logano got loose and clipped the back of Newman. Newman spun and went to Pit Road with no damage, just to get four new tires.

Lap 154, Jeff Gordon's left front tire went down and a Caution came out. Then another Caution on lap 167 for debris in Turn Two.

Lap 178, Denny leads with Kevin Harvick on his rear bumper, until lap 189 when Harvick took the lead and led the next 11 laps and took the Checkered Flag, followed by Hamlin, Edwards, Biffle, Kenseth, Stewart, Montoya, Truex, Sadler and Logano. This means Kevin Harvick is clinched into the 2010 Chase!

Chase Standings:
Ky. Busch
Ku. Busch

No comments:

Post a Comment