Friday, July 15, 2011

Camping World Truck Series: Iowa

Credit to Google

Since the Camping World Truck Series is at Iowa Speedway this weekend and the Sprint Cup Series race is at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, no Cup regulars will be participating in the Truck race tomorrow night.  The only driver ineligible to receive points for a win would be Brian Ickler – he has elected to run for Nationwide Series points.  This will only mark the third time this season a Camping World Truck Series driver will return to Victory Lane. 

Credit to Google
Last week, defending champion Todd Bodine said that he didn’t think he would be at Iowa Speedway this weekend competing in the No. 30 Germain Racing Toyota, due to the fact that he had no sponsor.  This all changed yesterday when it was announced that Randy Moss Motorsports would join forces with Germain Racing for the race at Iowa to put Todd – replacing Travis Kvapil – in the No. 5.  Todd’s crew chief, Mike Hillman, Jr., will also move with Bodine to the No. 5. 

In first practice today, David Mayhew, piloting the No. 2 for Kevin Harvick Incorporated, was first, followed by Austin Dillon, Nelson Piquet (Rookie contender), Miguel Paludo, Brian Ickler, Joey Coulter (Rookie contender), Cole Whitt (Rookie contender), Justin Marks, Johnny Sauter and Ron Hornaday; a pretty serious pack to have to run against if you ask me. Tomorrow night, you should definitely keep an eye out for these drivers. 

In Final Practice, Cole Whitt, Justin Lofton, Ron Hornaday, Parker Kligerman, James Buescher, Jason White, Joey Coulter, Brian Ickler, Austin Dillon and  David Mayhew were the top ten.  A little bit of a mix-up from First Practice, but it shows the stronger ones in the race tomorrow.  

Does this mean a Rookie of the Year contender will win his first race?  Will Austin Dillon become a repeat winner at Iowa and break his recent string of bad finishes?  Or will a Camping World Truck Series veteran win? 

No comments:

Post a Comment