Wednesday, September 28, 2011

The K&N Pro Series West 2011 Rookie of the Year

As I said a month ago, I was going to try to cover the K&N Pro Series [East and West] in addition to the three
Credit to
major NASCAR divisions. 

Some of you may remember reading about Dylan Kwasniewski, the youngest winner in the K&N Pro Series about a month or so ago. If you don't, here's a little recap.

Dylan, piloting the No. 3 Rockstar/Royal Purple Ford, became the youngest ever K&N Pro Series winner when he won at Colorado National Speedway, then backed that win up with one at Montana Raceway Park. By becoming the youngest winner, he broke the "Youngest Winner" record previously held by NASCAR 2009 Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year, Joey Logano.

Credit to

With two races left in the 2011 season, Kwasniewski was able to clinch the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award, diminishing the hopes that Ryan Philpott and Justin Funkhouser had of winning this title. Philpott and Funkhouser are left battling it out two see who will become the Rookie of the Year runner-up.

Kwasniewski, Philpott, and Funkhouser (if they remain second and third) will all be able to attend the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Awards Gala at the Hall of Fame's Charlotte Convention Center on December 10th to receive their awards.  

Greg Pursley, with six wins so far this season, is currently the points leader with 2050 points; 294 points ahead of Moses Smith.  

Check back Friday night for a K&N Pro Series East article!

No comments:

Post a Comment