Monday, November 21, 2011

NASCAR Announces 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Schedule

NASCAR Announces 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Schedule
A Return To Rockingham, Two Trips To Iowa Short Track Highlight 18th Season

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 21, 2011) – NASCAR announced today the 2012 schedule for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, highlighted by the sport’s return to historic Rockingham Speedway for the first time since 2004 and a number of familiar venues known for the typically intense battles among the tough trucks.

“The 2012 schedule has a great mix of tracks that will continue to deliver great racing for our fans," said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR senior vice president of racing operations. "We're excited to bring the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series to the famed Rockingham Speedway, along with the addition of a second date at Iowa Speedway. Looking ahead, interest in the truck series continues to grow in a number of different markets and we’re excited about what the future holds for next season and beyond.”
The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will race at Rockingham for the first time in its 17-year history, marking the first time the 1.017-mile track will host a NASCAR national series race since February of 2004.

Next season’s schedule, which features 22 races, opens with the traditional Daytona International Speedway Friday night bout, on Feb. 24. The championship will once again be decided at the season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Nov. 16.

With a nod to the sport’s – and the series’ – roots, the trucks will race on short tracks five times, at three different tracks, next season. MartinsvilleSpeedway hosts the first short-track event, on March 31, with a return engagement on Oct. 27.

Iowa Speedway, the popular 7/8th-mile short track, also hosts two NASCAR Camping World Truck events next season – on July 14 and Sept. 15BristolMotor Speedway’s high banks will hold its traditional Wednesday night show, on Aug. 22.

For the third consecutive season, the series will race at the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway triangle for its fast 50-lapper.

2/24 Daytona International Speedway
3/31 Martinsville Speedway
4/15 Rockingham Speedway
4/21 Kansas Speedway
5/18 Charlotte Motor Speedway
6/1 Dover International Speedway
6/8 Texas Motor Speedway
6/28 Kentucky Speedway
7/14 Iowa Speedway
7/21 Chicagoland Speedway
8/4 Pocono Raceway
8/18 Michigan International Speedway
8/22 Bristol Motor Speedway
8/31 Atlanta Motor Speedway
9/15 Iowa Speedway
9/21 Kentucky Speedway
10/6 Talladega Superspeedway
10/13 Las Vegas Motor Speedway 
10/27 Martinsville Speedway
11/2 Texas Motor Speedway
11/9 Phoenix International Raceway 
11/16 Homestead-Miami Speedway 


*Official NASCAR Press Release*

No comments:

Post a Comment