Saturday, February 25, 2012

NextEra Energy Resources 250 Recap

Friday night's NextEra Energy Resources 250 left us pondering two important questions:  "Who is this John King?" and "Who actually finished the race?"  Luckily, I have the answers to both.

As the final Camping World Truck Series practice ended, Parker Kligerman, in the No. 29 Cooper Standard Ram, was the one everyone was watching.  After putting down the fastest lap of 46.663 at 191.767 miles per hour, he was the one everyone thought had the best chance of winning. 

Credit: NASCAR
After starting on the pole, Miguel Paludo seemed to fall right into place when the Green Flag fell at 7:52.  By lap eight, the speeds were already at 191 miles per hour going three-wide into turn three, and Paludo was still leading. 

It seemed to be smooth sailing until lap twenty when Paulie Harraka got loose and collected Jason Leffler in the No. 18 for Kyle Busch Motorsports and Dakoda Armstrong in the No. 98 for ThorSport Racing; the first wreck of the 2012 Camping World Truck Series (CWTS) season.

By lap forty-seven, James Buescher, who was in contention for the 2011 CWTS championship, had taken the lead, but didn't hold onto it for very long because on lap fifty, there was debris on the track, bringing out a caution.  But when the Green Flag flew again, Paludo led. 

John King taking the Checkered Flag
Credit: NASCAR
Lap sixty-one, John King bounced Cale Gale sideways up into the wall and collected Mike Skinner; Piquet, Jr., led the field back to the Green Flag.  Fifteen short laps later, pole sitter, Miguel Paludo, got loose and spun, hitting the inside wall extremely hard.  Thankfully, Miguel emerged from the car, virtually unscathed. 
With ten laps to go, this is when the race got interesting.

Jason White took the lead and it was a calm three laps…that is, until Parker Kligerman, David Starr, and Dusty Davis went three-wide.  Kligerman, in the middle, didn't have enough room and spun out. 
Johnny Sauter was able to take the lead with two laps to go, this wasn't going to end well though.  With a single lap to go, Greenfield spun Keselowski and collected rookie, Max Gresham, and Rick Crawford.  This was the Green-White-Checkered number one.

Green-White-Checkered number two came out when John King unintentionally got into the back of leader, Sauter, and led to a pile-up including:  Starr, Gaughan, Sauter, Enfinger, Kligerman, and Crafton.

Of course, it didn't end there.  With John King leading, James Buescher got into the back of Joey Coulter, sending Coulter into the catch fence.  Coulter, thankfully, was okay and that marked the end of the race - and the third Green-White-Checkered; John King was the winner!

Click on the video to learn  more about winner, John King, and his team.

Race Results:
  1. John King
  2. Timothy Peters
  3. Justin Lofton
  4. Travis Kvapil
  5. Jason White
  6. Todd Bodine
  7. Chris Fontaine
  8. Ward Burton
  9. Ty Dillon
  10. Clay Greenfield 
  11. Parker Kligerman
  12. Grant Enfinger
  13. Dusty Davis
  14. Ron Hornaday
  15. Ryan Sieg
  16. Chris Cockrum
  17. James Buescher
  18. Joey Coulter
  19. Paulie Harraka
  20. Brendan Gaughan
  21. David Starr
  22. Nelson Piquet, Jr.
  23. Matt Crafton
  24. Johnny Sauter
  25. Rick Crawford
  26. Max Gresham
  27. Brad Keselowski 
  28. Ross Chastain
  29. Bryan Silas
  30. Miguel Paludo 
  31. T.J. Duke
  32. Cale Gale
  33. Mike Skinner
  34. JR Fitzpatrick
  35. Dakoda Armstrong
  36. Jason Leffler 

No comments:

Post a Comment