Sunday, May 13, 2012

Hendrick Motorsports 200th Win

Photo Credit:

On May 12, 2012, Jimmie Johnson helped Hendrick Motorsports reach a major milestone - two hundred Sprint Cup Series victories.  That's certainly not something that teams are achieving every weekend!

Let's go back in time.  The year is 1984, the team's name is All-Star Racing, and it's only a single-car team.  Owner, Rick Hendrick, didn’t know what he was getting into.  All-Star Racing's first win came at Martinsville Speedway with Geoff Bodine in April of 1984, only a handful of races into the season.  In 1985, All-Star Racing decided to change its name to Hendrick Motorsports. 

Hendrick Motorsports' fourth win was nothing to shrug off, seeing as it was the 1986 Daytona 500, again, with driver, Geoff Bodine.  Their thirty-sixth win came at the inaugural Brickyard 400, with Jeff Gordon behind the wheel.  Hendrick's one hundredth win, and major milestone win at the time, was at Michigan International Speedway in June of 2001, with Jeff Gordon. 

Fast forward to modern day.  All-Star Racing is now Hendrick Motorsports and it's now a four-car powerhouse.  Saturday, May 12, Jimmie Johnson took the checkered flag at Darlington Raceway, helping Rick Hendrick reach two hundred wins.  Hendrick Motorsports is only the second team to accomplish this, the other team being Petty Enterprises with two hundred and sixty-eight wins. 

Over the past twenty-eight years, Hendrick Motorsports has accomplished much more than other teams ever imagine:  six Daytona 500 wins, seven Brickyard 400 wins, nine Coca-Cola 600 wins, countless poles, and ten championships. 

Many drivers have helped Hendrick Motorsports with the two hundred wins:  Jeff Gordon (85), Jimmie Johnson (56), Terry Labonte (12), Darrell Waltrip (9), Tim Richmond (9), Geoff Bodine (7), Mark Martin (5), Ken Schrader (4), Kyle Busch (4), Ricky Rudd (4), Brian Vickers (1), Casey Mears (1), Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (1), Jerry Nadeau (1), and Joe Nemechek (1). 

The past twenty-eight years have resulted in amazing accomplishments and consistency for Hendrick Motorsports.  We wish them all the best of luck in their search for more wins!

No comments:

Post a Comment